Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Team for Commonwealth Youth Games announced

The New Zealand Olympic Committee has confirmed nominations of 11 swimmers to compete in the sixth Commonwealth Youth Games.

The swimmers are Hannah Bates (Selwyn, Canterbury), Lewis Clareburt (Capital, Wellington), Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone Racing, Wellington), Madeline Falconer (United, Auckland), Gina Galloway (United, Auckland), Finn Kennard-Campbell (North Shore, Auckland), Callum Prime (North Shore, Auckland), Mya Rasmussen (Kiwi West Aquatics, Manawatu), Zac Reid (AquaBladz New Plymouth), Ciara Smith (Northwave, Northland) and Laticia-Leigh Transom (Ice Breaker, Manawatu (Australian based).

The swimmers will be supported by Team Coaches Gary Hollywood (Capital, Wellington) and Andrew Nicholls (Kiwi West Aquatics, Manawatu) and Team Manager/Leader Toni Bayliffe (North Shore, Auckland).

The Commonwealth Youth Games will be held in Bahamas from 18-23 July with the swimming to be staged in the Betty Kelly-Kenning Swim Complex.

It’s been a busy last couple of months for this group of young swimmers. The 11 swimmers combined for 13 medals at the NZ Open Championships, 42 medals at the New Zealand Age Group Championships and five at the Australian Age Group Championships.

Lewis Clareburt was the standout swimmer at this year’s New Zealand Age Group Championships taking home 8 gold medals and breaking two national age group records. Clareburt will look to emulate the excellent form he showed on the international stage at last year’s Junior Pan Pacific Championships in Hawaii.

Mya Rasmussen with also be one to watch. Rasmussen smashed her own 400m individual medley New Zealand Age Group Record at this year NZ Age Group Championships in a time that would have seen her win gold at the NZ Open Championships.

Swimming New Zealand wish the team every success in the build-up and at this year Youth Commonwealth Games.