Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Another record breaking day in the pool for Kiwi youth swimmers.

The young New Zealand team once again dominated the second finals pool session of the Commonwealth Youth Games winning four gold medals, a silver and a bronze.

Continuing her recent strong form Mya Rasmussen earned the first podium spot and set a New Zealand age group record to win gold in the women’s 400m individual medley with a time of 4:42.19. Hannah Bates finished in 7th (5:00.14).

Lewis Clareburt then followed suit, setting another New Zealand age group record, this time in the men’s 400m individual medal to win gold in 4:18.78, beating Bradlee Ashby’s record by almost five seconds. Callum Prime also finished sixth in the same race.

100m backstroke bronze medalist Finn Kennard-Campbell picked up his first gold of the games when he won the men’s 50m backstroke in a time of 26.18.

Latictia Transom won silver in the 100m freestyle (56.59) to go with the gold medal she won in the 200m event. Ciara Smith won bronze in the 50m breaststroke (32.56), after just missing out on the medals yesterday.

Gina Galloway missed out on a second bronze medal, beaten to the wall by South Africa’s Mariella Venter in the 50m backstroke final by .32 or a second. Galloway stopped the clock at 29.98.

In the last event of the evening Clareburt, Zac Reid, Edwards and Transom won yet another gold in the 4X200m freestyle mixed relay  with a time of 7:50.85.

“It was another awesome day, we’re feeling great and we have even more strong events to compete in tomorrow,” Reid said.

“It was such a cool feeling to be up there with so many Kiwi’s getting photos with our medals at the end of the day.”

New Zealand are now on top of the Commonwealth Youth Games medal table after three days of competition.

NOTE: Additional reporting from the New Zealand Olympic Committee.

The New Zealand team for Commonwealth Youth Games, Bahamas, July 18-23 2017.

Hannah Bates (Selwyn, Canterbury)
Lewis Clareburt (Capital, Wellington)
Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone Racing, Wellington)
Madeline Falconer (United, Auckland)
Gina Galloway (United, Auckland)
Finn Kennard-Campbell (North Shore, Auckland)
Callum Prime (North Shore, Auckland)
Mya Rasmussen (Kiwi West Aquatics, Manawatu)
Zac Reid (AquaBladz New Plymouth)
Ciara Smith (Northwave, Northland)
Laticia-Leigh Transom (Ice Breaker, Manawatu (Australian based).

Follow Swimming New Zealand on social media.

Facebook: @swimmingnewzealand and @HighPerformanceSNZ
Twitter: @SwimmingNZ
Instagram: @swimming_nz