Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary


Lewis Clareburt finished 8th in the A-final of the men's 200m butterfly. His time of 1:57.37s was 0.01s off his PB time from the heats.

The final was won by Daiya Seto (JPN) in 1:54.34s with Leonardo De Deus (BRA) second in 1:54.89s and Zach Harting (USA) third in 1:55.05s.

Ali Galyer made her first appearance competing for New Zealand on Day 2. In the heats of the women's 100m backstroke Galyer set a personal best time of 1:01.61s, shaving 0.27s off her previous best.

In the B-final, Galyer finished 4th in 1:01.67s.

Canadian Kylie Masse won the A-final in 58.61 from Australian Emily Seebohm (58.72s) and world record holder Kathleen Baker (USA) who was third in 58.83s.

Daniel Hunter was 6th in heat 4 of the men's 100m freestyle with a time of 49.86s. Hunter was a late inclusion into the evening B-final and finished 8th with a time of 49.89s.

In the A-final it was a 1-2 finish for Australia with Olympic Champion Kyle Chalmers winning in 48.00s ahead of teammate Jack Cartwright, who shared silver with Caeleb Dressel (USA) in 48.22s.

In day 3 action, Lewis Clareburt will be the only Kiwi in action, competing in the men's 200m individual medley.

Watch the Pan Pacific Championships LIVE on SKY Sport NZ pop up 2 (#56) from 9pm.

Image Credit: Getty Images / Kiyoshi Ota