Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

SNZ Recognises Five Members Who Are Representing NZ at the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games

Swimming New Zealand would like to recognise and congratulate the following members from our swimming community who will be representing our country with pride at the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games, in their respective roles. Each of these members has been heavily involved in our events and swimming community for many years, and their roles in Tokyo are well deserved.

Dianne Farmer

Hailing from the Palmerston North Swim Club in Manawatu with over 30 years of involvement in our swimming community, Dianne will officiate at her first Olympic Games in Tokyo. Having officiated at a host of other international swimming competitions such as a FINA World Championship and FINA World Short Course Championships, we congratulate and wish Dianne all the best for her Olympic debut.

Lesley Huckins

A Swimming NZ life member (awarded in 2019) and previous Swimming NZ president (2015 – 2018) from Wharenui in the Canterbury West Coast region, Lesley will be involved at another Olympic Games, after being involved in Rio 2016, as part of her role on the FINA Swimming Technical Committee.

John West

Also a Swimming NZ life member (awarded in 2016) from Auckland, John will return to the Olympic Games, after being involved in London 2012, as part of his role on the FINA Open Water Swimming Technical Committee.

Carlrine Gillespie

Northland's Carlrine from Dargaville will officiate at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games in August. Having last officiated at the Melbourne 2020 World Para World Series in Melbourne Australia, we congratulate Carlrine and wish her all the best next month at the Paralympic Games.

Dave Gerrard

The current Swimming NZ president and Swimming NZ life member (awarded in 2015), Dave will return to Tokyo in his role as the Vice Chairman of the FINA Sports Medicine Committee, having competed in the 1964 Olympics for New Zealand.